Software Carpentry

Helping scientists make better software since 1997

SciFoo, eGY, and Splitting

  1. OpenWetware has posted notes from SciFoo. I’m sorry I missed it; looking forward to “Science in the 21st Century” even more than before.
  2. Those notes pointed me at the Electronic Geophysical Year declaration. I agree in principle, but think that something like the Open Source Initiative’s “certified open” badge would be more useful than UN-ish statements like, “Effort should be made to identify and rescue critical Earth system data and ensure persistent access to them.”
  3. We’re very close to re-launching the Software Carpentry site as a wiki, and I’m wondering if I should move the science-and-computing thread out of this blog into a separate one at that site.  Thoughts?
Written by Greg Wilson

2008/08/11 at 05:03

Posted in Noticed

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, I agree that the actual text of the statement and perhaps its form are not necessarily appropriate. It was really just that I had had vague ideas about ‘standards’ or something and that this provided a protocol that people could sign up to. The devil, as always, is in the detail.

    Look forward to meeting you at Science21 in a few weeks!

    Cameron Neylon

    2008/08/11 at 10:31

  2. Hey Greg, re #3: just keep in mind that some of us (no idea how many) track your blog with RSS — so as long as I can get a fairly specific RSS feed, I don’t care where you post your content :). However, if I can’t get an RSS feed, or Ihave to monitor the entire site or some such, that will be difficult for me to handle.

    –titus

    Titus Brown

    2008/08/12 at 10:05


Comments are closed.

